Pacific Media Centre Pacific Media Watch Pacific Journalism Review Asia Pacific Report

‘Intrepid traveller' wins first RNZI Asia-Pacific journalism prize

One of Kim Bowden's stories for Pacific Scoop. Image: PMC

Pacific Media Centre

24 March, 2011

A young graduate who topped last year’s Asia-Pacific Journalism course tonight won the inaugural Radio New Zealand International prize for regional reporting.

The RNZI prize, an all expenses paid internship for a week in the radio station’s Wellington newsroom, was presented by manager Linden Clark.

“We are delighted to be supporting Asia-Pacific journalism at AUT University with this new award,” said RNZI’s manager Linden Clark.

Kim Bowden . .. top Asia-Pacific and postgraduate student journalist. Photo: PMCKim Bowden (pictured) recently graduated on AUT’s Postgraduate Diploma in Communication Studies as a journalist to add to her political studies degree.

The move into journalism had been a change in career path for Bowden. She had previously worked for six years with adventure tour company Intrepid Travel in Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Fiji, Vanuatu and New Zealand.

She also had a year-long stint as an electoral secretary.

Bowden, who filed frequent Asia-Pacific stories to PMC Online and Pacific Scoop over the past year also won the Kunda Dixit prize for international journalism – a book from his photojournalism trilogy on the decade-long Maoist civil war in Nepal. She won the "outstanding graduate" award for postgraduate student journalists.

Pacific Media Centre director Dr David Robie praised Bowden for her "commitment, dedication and maturity" for her portfolio of Asia-Pacific stories.

Bowden is also one of three recipients of the 2011 Pacific Media Centre international internships, sponsored by the Asia New Zealand Foundation. She will be attached to China in Beijing for three months.

Kim Bowden stories on Pacific Scoop

AUT's School of Communication Studies Award Winners 2010

School of Communication Studies Award for Top Student in the Certificate in Communication Studies:
Alana McIsaac

School of Communication Studies Award for Top Year One Bachelor of Communication Studies:
Jamie Barrett

School of Communication Studies Award for Top Year Two Bachelor of Communication Studies:
Dante Pragier

School of Communication Studies Award for Excellence in Communication Theory:
Judy Ingham

Dean’s Award for Excellence in First Year Postgraduate Study:
Lewis Tennant

Dean’s Award for Top Bachelor of Communication Studies (Hons) Student:
Aimee Moore

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Research - Master of Communication Studies:
Josephine Latu

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Research - Doctorate:
Tarek Cherkaoui

AUT /PIMA Pasifika Communications Scholarship Winners:
    - Undergraduate: Suzanne Suisuiki
    - Postgraduate: Yvonne Brill

TVNZ Diversity Journalism Scholarship:
Nilam Patel

AUT /PMC China Exchange and Asia New Zealand Foundation International Internship Winners:
China Daily.comKim Bowden & Yvonne Brill
Jakata GlobeCorazon Miller

Asia New Zealand Foundation sponsorship for Asian Journalism Fellowship:
Rukhsana Aslam

Indian Newslink Scholarship for Postgraduate Journalism:
Andrew Fernando

Storyboard Award and Spasifik Magazine Prize for Diversity Journalism by a graduating student 2010:
Corazon Miller

Radio New Zealand International Award and Kunda Dixit Prize for Asia-Pacific Journalism:
Kim Bowden

John Foy Memorial Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism:
Hannah Spyksma

Fairfax Magazines Award for Excellence in Magazine Journalism:
Celeste Gorrell Anstiss

APN National Publishing Award for the Outstanding Graduate in the Post Graduate Diploma in Journalism:
Kim Bowden

National Business Review Award for Outstanding Graduate in the BCS Journalism Major:
Jo Twyford

Baldwin Boyle Group Award for Overall Excellence in Public Relations:
Eloise Hay

Public Relations Institute President’s Award for the Top Public Relations Graduate from the Bachelor of Communication Studies:
Kirsten McConchie

Network PR Practical Project Award for The New Zealand Rugby Foundation Team:
Isaac Banks, Victoria Ellis, Angela Campbell, James Roberts, Safia Van Der Zwan

Media Monitors Evaluation Award for The Gynaecological Cancer Foundation Team:
Duchesne Alder, Kate Allinson, Courtney Bennett, Moniquea Frear, Jess Miller

The Radio Bureau Award for Top Graduate in Applied Radio Techniques:
Lochleah Schofield

The Radio Bureau Award for Top Radio Graduate:
Kim Sole

Cyclone Computers Award for the Digital Media BCS Graduate of the Year:
Julia Price

School of Communication Studies Award for Academic Excellence in the Creative Industries Major:
Kelsey O'Brien

School of Communication Studies Award for Entrepreneurialism Spirit in the Creative Industries:
Jack Baigent

School of Communication Studies Award for Professional Communication Graduate of the Year:
Zoe Wake Hyde

TVNZ Awards for:
Art Director of the Year
- Frances Cooke
Copywriter of the Year - Wicky Tafau
Creative Team of the Year - Sasha Arandelovic & Kevin Bachtiar

TV3 Award for Excellence in Practical Production:
Shani Bennett

Sky Award for Excellence in Studio Production jointly awarded to:
Jess Lawrence & Cam Nealie

TVNZ Award for the Television Graduate of the Year:
Aziz Al Sa'afin


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.